top of page

Who we are 



Dr Rhona MacDonald  RIP  MBChB, MPH, MRCGP, DCH, DRCOG

Former Honorary Executive Director and Chair of Trustees 

Dr Brigid Hayden  MB Ch B, FRCOG, PGCTLCC

Honorary Executive Director and Chair of Trustees (Convenor)

Professor David Southall  OBE (for humanitarian aid for children in Bosnia & Herzegovina) MD, MRCP, MBBS, FRCPCH

Honorary Medical Director

Wendy Martin  RN, RM, ADM, BMedSci, LLM, MSc


Dr Máire Casement  FRCOG


John Band MLIBF


Dr Barbara Phillips Mb.ChB MRCP (UK)  FFAEM Honorary FRCPCH


Catherine Stowell MSc (with distinction in medical utrasound)


Madho Jingree   MB.ChB (Bristol), FFARCSI (Dublin)

Special Advisors


Dr Diane Watson  MBBCh, FRCA

Special Advisor in Obstetric Anaesthesia and Medical Ethics


In-country Staff


Jeremiah Akoi  BBA MBA

Finance Manager, MCAI Liberia


Amos Davis  BSc

Programme Manager, MCAI Liberia


Austine Menlor  BBA AA

Logistician, Grand Gedeh County, MCAI Liberia

Nurse Jessica Fofana Diploma in Nursing

Data manager for maternal, neonatal and child outcomes and coordinator of maternal fetal monitoring in labour program MCAI Liberia

Nurse Christopher F Kendema BSc

Deputy Data Manager MCAI Liberia

UK Staff and Volunteers

Dr Alison Earley  (MBBS FRCP FRCPCH DTM&H)

MCAI Trainer in advanced neonatal care

Hasson Abdulkadir BNSc

Lead trainer advanced paediatric clinician training program in Liberia

Professor Neil McIntosh

MCAI Trainer in advanced neonatal care


David Edgar  BSc (Hons)

Honorary Web Consultant

Ciaran McHugh BSc. (Hons), RGN, NQEMT
Honorary Clinical Data Analyst


Dr Mesfin G Zbelo


Dr Meena Nathan Cherian



Baroness Golding



Dr John Bridson  RIP MB, BS, MRCP, FRCPCH

Honorary Patron RIP


Sylvia Lady Limerick  CBE, MA, FRCP (Hon), FRCPCH (Hon)

former Patron

bottom of page